Goals Update: 2 Months Later

At the beginning of the year I wrote a post saying New Year’s Resolutions are BS. You should do goals instead.

Soooo…. how’s that going? It’s important to check in on your goals now and then and make sure you’re actually making progress. If not, let’s revise the goal and move forward.

Here were my goals:

  • Write a book
  • Make a major change in my life – move, dog, gf, etc
  • Learn about BioInformatics
  • Get down to 10% body fat

How am I doing?

Make a major change in my life: done! I randomly met an amazing girl. We’re moving so fast it’s scary, but it feels right. I’m going to keep holding on to this roller coaster. This is an awesome change in my life, but it also has downsides…

Write a book: not even started! I can blame this on not having as much free time as I used to (see the above goal), or I can blame it on not having a system in place (write for an hour a day when I get up, for instance). I think I need to revise this goal anyway: the point is to achieve something big and difficult. At the time I wrote this goal, a book seemed like the thing. But it could also work for a large software project, or actually completing several short stories. I’m going to revise this goal: finish a first draft of a short story by April 1st.

Learn about BioInformatics: in progress! I’m planning on starting an online series of courses starting March 9th (The BioInformatics Specialization on Coursera, for those interested).

Get down to 10% body fat: in progress! I’m still tracking my diet daily; still recording my weight daily and my bf% weekly. For those interested, on Jan 1st I was 180lbs, 15.7%bf. Today (Feb 26th) I’m 170.8lbs, 14.3%bf. It seems like a lot of weight lost, but in actual fact I’ve just returned to where I was before Christmas. My challenges here are that I’m working through an injury and am having difficulty exercising, as well as the usual social pressures to eat out and have junk food at parties.

What have I done to stay on track?

This year, I wrote down my goals on a sticky and put them on the mirror in my bathroom! Every time I go in there I’m reminded that I have yet to start writing a book, but I’m also reminded to step on the scale and make my daily diet plan.

What are you doing to stay on track with your goals? Leave a note in the comments.

Leave a Reply

