Roundup: Meddling with Our Genes, Fecal Transplants, and Being More Confident

Weekly Media Roundup (June 13 – 19)

I love a good long drive – lots of time to listen to podcasts! I got sucked in this week – hope you find something interesting.

Fun

Books:

Podcasts:

Health

Books:

  • David D Burns – Feeling Good
    • I’ve mentioned this one before, but this is a great one for overcoming depression using Cognitive Behavioral Therapy. I read chapters on overcoming depression due to tragedy and sickness, as well as getting to the root of the depression.

Podcasts:

Career/Financial

Articles:

Relationships

Articles:

  • The New York Times (Aziz Ansari) – How to Make Online Dating Work
    • Actually go out on dates!
    • The 3 questions that matter (according to OkCupid): “Do you like horror movies?” “Have you ever traveled around another country alone?” and “Wouldn’t it be fun to chuck it all and go live on a sailboat?”

Personal Improvement

Books:

  • Napoleon Hill – Think and Grow Rich
    • I finished this book this week, and was highly impressed. Really interesting stuff about the power of mastermind groups and overcoming fear. It falters a bit when the author starts to describe his belief in telepathy, but this is one to come back to again. Definitely pick up the physical book, because there are a lot of lists.

Podcasts:

Articles:

5 thoughts on “Roundup: Meddling with Our Genes, Fecal Transplants, and Being More Confident

  1. I can honestly say I really enjoy when you write these! It is a flood of new knowledge that someone can embrace! Many of these I’ve never even heard of before! So thank you for bringing them to my attention!

    Like

    • Thanks so much. Is there anything you enjoy that you think I should include in my rotation? I just heard about a Gretchen Rubin podcast that I’m going to check out…

      Like

      • It really depends on what type of stuff you are interested in! I’m HUGE into real estate, so a large chunk of my time is dedicated to such (including podcasts, books, ect.). Not including the books I recommended to you a little while ago, I also recommend checking out The Happiness Hypothesis by Jonathan Haidt. This book basically addresses the age old question of “how can I live a meaningful life?”. I also recommend Subliminal: How Your Unconscious Mind Rules Your Behavior by Leonard Mlodinow. Those are a few good ones worth checking out! In terms of podcasts, almost every episode by The Art of Manliness is awesome!

        Anyways, I could go on and on about books that I’ve been enticed by. Haha but these couple, along with the few I commented with before, are a magnificent start!

        Like

      • Thanks! I just subscribed to The Art of Manliness. The Happiness Hypothesis was already in my Goodreads queue, but I’ve added Subliminal (I feel like I’ve heard of that somewhere before, but I can’t remember where 🙂

        I’m also looking for good personal finance and social/relationship resources. There’s interesting stuff on Art of Charm etc about those things. Listen Money Matters is a decent podcast about money, but I could use something with… a little more depth and polish 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

