Who Are My Five?

“You are the average of the five people you spend the most time with.”
                                                            -Jim Rohn

I feel like I’ve seen this quote everywhere. But what does it mean, practically? Why should it matter who I spend time with? Is there proof of this phenomenon?

5 Reasons to Have More Successful Friends

Why would it matter who I spend time with? This question seems rhetorical. But I’m going to try and break down the reasons:

Peer pressure is a powerful force. If your friends are succeeding, you’ll either have to succeed or get left behind. In the same way, if your friends are encouraging you to commit crimes with them, you’ll be more likely to commit crimes as well. The same goes for drinking and drugs, and the same goes for getting fit.

If you have successful friends, your vision of what’s possible is expanded. Personally, I have a hard time visualizing myself as a success. But if one of my friends does something that I don’t see myself doing, it becomes easier to see myself in that role. For example, for a long time I didn’t see myself as a public speaker. But by going to a Toastmasters group, I learned to see myself as someone who can give speeches, and even lead a group. What could you imagine yourself doing if your friends were CEOs or hang gliders or Senators? I believe this is a big part of the reason why people have a hard time moving up socioeconomically.

If you have unmotivated friends, you’ll be less likely to push yourself to achieve. Why should you get up early on Saturday morning and exercise when your friends are drinking on Friday night? It’s easy to give into the temptation; it’s hard to motivate yourself by yourself.

Unsuccessful people actively demotivate you. Have you ever had an overweight friend who complained about your attempts at being healthy? Have you been told by a (bad!) teacher that you can’t succeed at ? We all have parents or relatives who are downers. Why not hang around people who share your positive outlook and goal orientation?

Successful people are great to have in your network. If you are succeeding, and growing, and talking about your goals, your successful friends can give you a hand! An advocate who knows you are driven can help you find work, can introduce you to other successful people, and can pass opportunities your way.

What does it mean, practically?

Is the average the strict mathematical average? Is the average a general idea? How do I determine the value of my friends? There are different metrics that might apply – fitness, wealth, happiness.

Here’s my preference: average is a loose term. If you are friends with 5 models, chances are your popularity will be below the average of those 5 people (the assumption being that models are popular). However, if you are friends with 5 shut-ins, I think it’s reasonable to assume your popularity may be higher than average.

Here’s an exercise I found in Entrepreneur magazine that might help determine your friends values:

Write down the five people with whom you spend most of your time. Assign a numerical value to each person from 1 to 10, and then calculate your average (with 10 being the most positive influence possible). How does each person affect your average?

I think the point is: Are the people you associate with pulling you up or down?

Is there proof of this phenomenon?

It’s unclear. I’m no historian or scientist, so I’ve put feelers out on the interwebs.
Quora
Reddit

The best evidence I’ve seen is described in this TED talk by Nicholas Christakis, The hidden influence of social networks. He describes studies of networks over time, specifically with obesity and happiness. I’m not sure it supports the claim that you are the average of 5 people, but it does support the general idea that, for at least some attributes, you are influence by your network.

Let me know your thoughts in the comments!

More Reading:

Personal Excellence – You are the Average of the 5 People You Spend the Most Time With
Entrepreneur Magazine – Why the Five People Around You Are Crucial to Your Success
LifeHacker – How the People Around You Affect Personal Success

3 thoughts on “Who Are My Five?

  1. to help build on this…. not only do your 5 main individuals matter, but how you allocate your time with people of all walks of life is also a very significant matter.

    Like Henry Ford once said, “If everyone is moving forward together, then success takes care of itself.”.

    while having the main 5 people in your life “pull” you to the top, you need to allocate your time with people of all different walks of life.

    I always refer to the rule of 33% in my blog! Separating your time up accordingly helps you remain humble, continue to strive to success, and not be lonely along the way!

    When I refer to “success”, I am referring to the discipline and inner peace that a person is seeking. Not always power, money or rise in social rank!!

    Like

    • That’s a good point. If you want a balanced life, you probably want a balance of the kind of people you are hanging out with – productive, spiritual, healthy, etc. Thanks for the insight!

      Like

      • Absolutely! It helps to keep you grounded in your cause. A man who knows where he once came from, always surges forward with more determination on his path to personal success.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

