Roundup: Placebos, Being Frugal, and a Tech Bubble?

Weekly Media Roundup (June 6 – 12)

I’m… I’m not sure what happened. I don’t think I listened to any podcasts this week. I consumed a lot of interesting articles, and I listed to about half of an audiobook… but no podcasts. Sorry? Maybe it’s for the best…

Fun

Personal Improvement

Books:

  • Napoleon Hill – Think and Grow Rich
    • I’m not completely finished with this, but so far there are some great reminders to use auto-suggestion and be decisive. So far a treasure trove of truths and strategies. Not so much about financial success as personal.

Articles:

Health/Fitness

Articles:

Financial/Career

Articles:

5 thoughts on “Roundup: Placebos, Being Frugal, and a Tech Bubble?

  1. I’m currently reading Think and Grow Rich right now! It is a very intriguing book and offers many different insights. What chapter stuck with you more and made the biggest impact?

    Like

    • I’m only about halfway through, but there are a couple of ideas that have really popped out.

      The first is auto-suggestion. I’ve heard this idea in many places (although it goes by various names), first in Psycho-cybernetics, then in The Success Principles, then in Awaken the Giant Within, and I believe that it’s the basis of The Secret (though I haven’t read that one). There’s a part of me that is very skeptical of the woo-woo power of imagining that you have something. However, I’ve decided to try it – for at least a couple of goals to begin with. I’ve put a reminder on my mirror so I remember first thing in the mornings.

      The second is the part about decisiveness and procrastination. I can definitely relate to putting things off, and dithering, and I have noticed in my own life that things do not carry the weight I give them. I’m indecisive about what television to buy, what projects to work on, what investments to make… and sometimes I notice that after all my wishy-washy thinking is done and I’ve made a decision, I’m much better off. In the end, it doesn’t really matter, because I’ll either be happy with whatever decision I’ve made or I’ll need to change course. It has been difficult for me to make decisions in the past, I think because of my depression, but this chapter has given me a lot to think about.

      The rest of the chapters with lists of things to do and not to do are interesting, but I think they will make much more of an impact when I read them (which I plan to do after I’ve finished the audiobook). I also loved the chapter about how to get a job and put your resume together — it’s hilariously archaic.

      Thanks for reading. What ideas made the biggest impact on you? Do you have any other book recommendations?

      Like

  2. I enjoy the part in the introduction where he addresses how “before we can accumulate riches in great abundance, we must magnetize our minds with intense DESIRE for riches…” basically telling everyone that you are required to become money-hungry in order to achieve wealth in abundance. haha!

    Yet in a way, he’s right! Without the obsession and determination to complete something, no one is willing to go all the way. They either lose that drive they once had, or just realize it is no longer something they wish to focus upon!

    One of my favorite quotes (that somewhat aligns with this idea) is by Charles Munger. He says: “To get what you want, you have to deserve what you want”.

    I used to be horrible with procrastination…! It would make my entire day fall into shambles and made organization an absolute horror. Beginning last Monday (I recommend you try this if possible!) I dedicated myself to do one task that would benefit me every morning and make each day more structured. This task is as follows: spend 45 minutes to 1 hour and go on a walk outdoors. Doesn’t matter where you walk! During that time period I would write down (or type into my to-do list on my phone) 3 major things that I would complete before I ate dinner that day. Now, these could range from making 2 investments that I’ve never done to completing one blog post to calling someone I haven’t talked to in a long time and attempt to reconnect with them. This structure not only added satisfaction to my day by completing tasks I set into place, but it helps make me more productive with everything else!

    I digress…. haha I apologize for that!!

    I haven’t gotten too far into the book yet (a whooping 35 pages?), but I do have a couple that I absolutely think you should read and let me know what you think of them.

    1. Managing Oneself by Peter Drucker (This one is A Fantastic Book)
    2. The Lessons of History by Will & Ariel Durant (This book basically gives a synopsis of history but makes it interesting and thought provoking. It is incredibly insightful in many ways.)

    Like

    • Thanks for the book suggestions. I’ve added them to my Goodreads list.

      I’m always interested in trying something new with setting up my day for productivity. I’ve experimented with a complex
      morning routing – yoga, pushups, meditation, journaling, goal setting, deliberate reading. I’ve also experimented with exercising, or getting up an hour early and doing something creative. I’ve tried writing my goals twice a day – morning and night (as Gary Cardin recommends doing, although I don’t recommend his book). My method right now is super simple, but I’m hoping it starts me out mentally refreshed – I get up without an alarm, do 10 minutes of mediation, and then start to get ready for work. Your method seems interesting as well – I’ll give it a try.

      Like

      • It never hurts to attempt new things right?? Haha! For all I know, a certain mixture between the two of our approaches could be the perfect set-up.

        Mahatma Ghandi had a perfect quote for this type of situation:
        Live as if you were to die tomorrow. Learn as if you were to live forever.

        You can never learn to much! This also goes for trying new things!
        You’re absolutely on the right track! You’re traveling portfolio is magnificent!!

        Just remember that learning never exhausts the mind… Allowing negative people into your life, and stress, does!

        Like

Leave a Reply

